

August 21, 2008

## **News Office Multimedia**

Slide Shows Videos

Special Presentations

# Newsmakers

DAAD HONORS HARVARD STUDENTS

The German Academic Exchange Service (Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst [DAAD]), an organization promoting higher education in Germany and providing funding to do so, has announced that 13 Harvard students (including recent College graduates) have been named recipients of several scholarships and grants for the upcoming academic year. The recipients are **Jeremy Lin** '09, **Elisa Zhang** '08, **Arielle Fridson** '08, **Lauren Gibilisco** '08, **Beatrice Kitzinger** '10, **Caroline Schopp** '08, **Lanka Tattersall** '11, and **Shirley Ye** '11 (Graduate Study Scholarships); **Nora Bartosik** '08 (Study Scholarship for Artists and Musicians); and **Jason Gao** '10, **Alexander Hristov** '11, **Angelo Mao** '10, and **Jacob Sanders** '09, who were accepted in the Research Internships in Science and Engineering (RISE) program.

DAAD programs aim to create goodwill and professional relationships to help build a solid foundation for relations between Germany and North America. Scholarship recipients are selected on the basis of outstanding academic records and convincing project proposals or statements of purpose. The DAAD offers programs and funding to more than 50,000 individuals per year. DAAD also represents the German higher education system abroad, promoting the European nation as an academic and research destination.

### LOCKWOOD RECEIVES KRISTELLER AWARD

At the annual meeting of the Renaissance Society of America this past spring in Chicago, Fanny Peabody Professor of Music *Emeritus* **Lewis Lockwood** received the Paul Oskar Kristeller Award for Lifetime Achievement in scholarship. A number of Lockwood's former students were present at the meeting, where they delivered papers on aspects of their work in Renaissance studies.

#### SHINAGEL AWARDED HONORARY DEGREE

The Academic Board of Universidad Alta Direccion (Panama) voted to award a doctoral degree *honoris causa* to **Michael Shinagel**, dean of Continuing Education and University Extension, in recognition of his "outstanding job in educating executives all over Central and South America." Hailed as "a remarkable educator," Shinagel received his diploma from the Universidad Alta Direccion President Ricardo Greco, at a special awarding ceremony held Aug. 20 in Cambridge, Mass.

In 2000, Shinagel was awarded a degree of doctor *honoris causa* from the International University of Ecuador for his contributions to professional continuing education, and in 2003, he received the degree of doctor *honoris causa* from

the Universidad Argentina de la Empresa in Buenos Aires, awarded in recognition of Shinagel's long and distinguished career in continuing higher education.

#### STUDENTS WIN WITH SUDOKU PUZZLES

The Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) recently recognized the 2008 winners in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling (MCM). Among the winners were **Christopher Chang** '10, **Zhou Fan** '10, and **Yi Sun** '11 of Harvard University. Their faculty adviser was **Clifford Taubes**, the William Petschek Professor of Mathematics.

The students tackled the topic of creating sudoku puzzles. Their winning model was titled "hsolve: A Difficulty Metric and Puzzle Generator for Sudoku." The trio presented the winning paper at the SIAM annual meeting held this past July in San Diego.

The Mathematical Contest in Modeling challenges teams of undergraduate students to clarify, analyze, and propose solutions to open-ended problems. The contest attracts entries from more than 500 institutions around the world.

#### PROFESSOR STONE AWARDED FIRST BATCHELOR PRIZE

**Howard Stone**, the Vicky Joseph Professor of Engineering and Applied Mathematics at Harvard University, has been named the winner of the inaugural Batchelor Prize for Fluid Mechanics. Sponsored by the Journal of Fluid Mechanics, which is published by Cambridge University Press, the prize will be awarded every four years at the International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics. The award recognizes the achievements of an active scientist who has made significant research contributions to fluid mechanics over the previous decade.

"As you can imagine, this award was a big surprise to me and it is indeed humbling," Stone said in an interview with Cambridge University Press. "Fluid mechanics is a research field that crosses many disciplines and engages many creative and smart researchers. There are many equally deserving individuals in our field," he added.

More than 130 researchers spanning the globe were considered for the prize.

#### **BBJ LAUDS HENKE**

The Boston Business Journal (BBJ) recently named **Jacquelynn Henke**, manager for sustainability and senior project manager with the University's Allston Development Group, to its list of 40 notable businessmen and women under 40 to have established themselves as leaders in their fields. This year's honorees will be recognized in October at the Copley Marriott Hotel in Boston.

### VAFA HONORED WITH DIRAC MEDAL

**Cumrun Vafa**, the Donner Professor of Science in Harvard's Faculty of Arts and Sciences, was among three professors who recently received the 2008 Dirac Medal and Prize from the Abdus Salam International Center for Theoretical Physics (ICTP).

Vafa was joined by Juan Martín Maldacena from Princeton

University and Joseph Polchinski of the University of California, Santa Barbara, in receiving the award for their fundamental contributions to superstring theory. Their studies range from early work on orbifold compactifications, physics and mathematics of mirror symmetry, D-branes and black hole physics, as well as gauge theory-gravity correspondence.

The Dirac Medal, established by the ICTP in 1985 in honor of physicist P.A.M. Dirac, is awarded to scientists who have made significant contributions to physics.

Harvard News Office	Photo Reprints	Previous Issues	Contact Us

© 2008 The President and Fellows of Harvard College