

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

### Français

### WORKING TOOLS

#### **Human Resources**

- Evaluation (PERFOWEB)
- Vacancy Bulletin
- UN Agency Recruitment
- Supernumerary (SESAM)
- Interns (STAGEWEB)
- Field Staff Security (BFC)

### **Administrative Texts**

- Administrative Manual
- DG Blue Notes
- DG Minutes
- Administrative Circulars
- Official Correspondence
- Forms and Headings

# Activity Management Tools

- Prog. & Budget (SISTER)
- Finance and Budget (FABS)
  > Field Rollout
- Extrabudgetary Proj. (EASY)
- Country Profiles
- UN Funds & EU Prog.
- Travel & Security

### Information Services

UNESDOC/UNESBIB GO Advanced

Library

- Documentation Resources
- Records Management

### **Translation Tools**

- Terminology (UNESCOTERM)
- UNESCO Thesaurus
- **IT Resources**
- Software
- Web Statistics

UNESCO Internet UN System Extranet



## INTRANET

## Winners of the 2005 Dirac Medal (ICTP) in Trieste, Italy

8th August : Sir Samuel Frederick Edwards, Emeritus Cavendish professor of physics, University of Cambridge, UK, and Patrick A. Lee, William and Emma Rogers professor of physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA, are the winners of the 2005 Dirac Medal.

Sir Samuel Frederick Edwards, one of the founding fathers of condensed matter physics, is being honoured for his fundamental contributions to polymer physics, spin glass theory and the physics of granular matter.

Patrick A. Lee, who is internationally known for his work on weak localization and interaction effects, is being recognized for his pioneering contributions to our understanding of disordered and strongly interacting manybody systems.

Established in 1985 by the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, the Dirac Medal, which is now recognized as one of the world's most prestigious prizes in physics, is given to scientists who have made significant contributions to theoretical physics and mathematics. Each recipient receives a cash award and a medal, and will also present a Dirac Medal lecture at ICTP at a later date. Recipients of the Nobel Prize, Fields Medal and Wolf Foundation Prize are not eligible for the Dirac Medal.

The announcement of the Dirac Medal is made each year on 8 August, the birth date of the great 20th century physicist Paul A.M. Dirac, who won the Nobel Prize in 1933. Dirac was a close associate and friend of ICTP from the Centre's first days in the early 1960s until his death in 1984.

For additional information about the Dirac Medal and the list of previous winners, see www.ictp.trieste.it/~sci\_info/awards/Dirac/DiracMedal.html.

Anna Triolo, Public Information Office (ICTP) Strada Costiera, 11, I - 34014 Trieste, Italy, tel. (+39) 0402240564, fax (+39) 0402240565 triolo@ictp.it - http://www.ictp.it

Founded in 1964 by Abdus Salam (Nobel Laureate), the Centre operates under a tripartite agreement among the Italian Government and two United Nations Agencies, UNESCO and IAEA. Its mission is to foster advanced studies and research, especially in developing countries. While the name of the Centre reflects its beginnings, its activities today encompass most areas of physical sciences including applications.

Author(s)

Triolo Dodds Anna (ICTP)

Publication Date

09 Aug 2005

≞ ⊠

**UNESCO INTRANET** Contact - intranet@unesco.org

- guest (Read) - ID: 5459